Find Out If Homeschool Is Right For You

You have no doubt found this site because you are interested in homeschooling your children, but would like to learn more before making the commitment. You might be wondering: Is homeschooling right for me? By reading this blog, I hope to answer that question.

I was in your shoes several years ago – researching, investigating, asking questions, etc. – all in an effort to make the decision that I felt was right for my children and their development.

To help me stay organized while researching, I created a Pinterest account and began pinning anything I found interesting. I’m several years into homeschooling now and I still use Pinterest to collect and share my recommendations for homeschooling resources (feel free to follow me there). As my boards grew, so did my followers. Soon, they began asking for my advice, which I was happy to give.

I get so many questions all the time from people about homeschooling, including:

  • Why do you homeschool?
  • How do you homeschool without losing your sanity?
  • How can I get started?

I thought it would be helpful to collect all of the questions I’ve received from email, Pinterest, Facebook, text messages, and face-to-face conversations and provide all of the answers here. Hopefully the tips, advice, and recommendations you find here will help you make the best decisions for you and your kids throughout your homeschooling journey.

Let me take a moment to throw out a disclaimer here: I confess that I don’t have all the answers, so I would encourage you to leave your thoughts in the Comments section of each post. Feel free to share with the online community what works for you and what doesn’t. By sharing our successes and failures we can each strive to better ourselves as parents and educators.

How we got started, is a question I get a lot. So here is my attempt to answer it.

When my oldest son was born we started reading to him from day one. He soaked it up and loved books. We noticed at age 2 he had a intense love of learning and very big obsessions about space and the planets. We continued to read and explore those interests and what had seemed so foreign to us before became so natural in homeschooling him. He learned to read at 3.5 years old and soaked everything up. We knew that by the time he reached kindergarten he would be bored. Even our pediatrician recommended homeschooling him as the best option. I prayed a lot about the decision and my husband and I talked about it and decided that we would try it.

When P was 4 years old I ordered Before Five in a Row, a literature based curriculum for preschool/kindergarten. It was the perfect fit for him. Even my little 2 year old son enjoyed the books. We went on adventures reading those books and learned about all sorts of places, animals and people. I have so many fond memories of that time with my little boys.

So that’s how we got started homeschooling and a little bit about what we started out with. In my next post, I will focus on the preschool years and how much fun you can have with your children by just reading.

Have an adventurous day!

Leave a Reply

