Celebrating 1 year! B’s birth story.

July 8, 2014 started out as a normal day for me. I was 28 weeks and 4 days pregnant with our precious baby girl.  A pregnancy that defied the odds. I was told after going through fertility to get my two boys that my odds of having one on my own was 0%.  God had a plan that was bigger than that 0%.

I wasn’t feeling great and hadn’t been for about a week.  Little did I know that I had a serious placenta infection. That morning I couldn’t do very much. I let the boys play, but I could barely gather the strength to even climb the stairs to play with them. After lunch, I told them it was movie time via Mommy’s bed because I just felt terrible. 45 minutes into the movie my water broke. I had a moment of disbelief and then started running around the house calling people and throwing things in a bag. 

My husband and I shared this lovely text conversation:

  
When we got to the hospital they could not locate B’s heartbeat.  I immediately panicked and my heart rate shot up extremely high.  They kept bringing in ultrasound after ultrasound and kept telling me to calm down. I told them once that I knew my baby was okay I would. They finally brought in the high resolution one and saw her heart beating and her heart beat and mine were exactly the same…that’s how high my heart rate was! After they knew she was ok and not in distress they checked me and I was surprised to find out I was 100% effaced and almost 2 cm dilated. Then the waves of contractions came.  I had never had contractions like these before and could barely breathe through them. I remember telling 2 sweet ladies from church that were there with me to please not judge if I said a not so nice word 😁

They immediately started me on magnesium. That stuff does it’s job, but it’s the devil in drug form! I couldn’t sleep for 48 hours straight, cried to my nurse friend to please knock me out and could not eat or get out of bed.  We met with NICU staff that prepped us for what to expect for premature delivery. Everyone’s goal was the same: to keep baby B inside as long as I could.  So I got moved out of L&D after 2 days and off the mag and up to a better room. I remember telling my mom that I wanted to get up and she and the nurse helped me out of bed. I took 2 steps forward and said, “Ok, I’m ready to get back in the bed”. That mag does awful things. 

I got to see my sweet boys when they came for a visit and it made me so happy!

  
So Thursday night, July 10 I was finally looking forward to them giving me something to help me sleep. I was pretty ticked off at the Dr giving approval for 1 Benadryl…1!  I told the nurse that Benadryl doesn’t do squat for me and she apologized and thus I faced another night of no sleep. Friday came and I had some great friends come and visit and made the day go by faster. Once 6-7pm rolled around I was feeling pretty bad and cried when my boys came to visit. That night around 11pm I spiked a fever and started spotting. They drew my blood and my white blood cell count was through the roof.  Emergency mode went into affect and they started prepping me for a c-section. I remember asking my husband what the date would be (because it would be well after midnight once she was born). He said, July 12.  I smiled!  My favorite number is 12 and all my babies have a variation of 12 in their birthday/birth weights.

I wasn’t nervous about B. I felt very much at peace that she would be fine. I was truly concerned for my health. I was extremely anemic and had really low blood pressure. I made Clint rub my forehead and talk and pray to me so I knew I was still present in the room. He heard B cry out a tiny cry at 2:29AM on Saturday morning, July 12. I was so happy to know that she cried. She weighed in at 2lbs 10oz and they brought her over so I could kiss her, told me that she looked good and off my sweet miracle went to the NICU.

  
After my recovery, I was finally able to see her around 3pm that afternoon. She was beautiful.  She & I had a long way to go. 

   
 

She had a long stay in the NICU. She was there for 6 weeks. She got the best care, love and attention from all the Dr’s and nurses there. They were and are a big blessing in our lives. 

My doctors took care of me and were wonderful in treating my PPD that I suffered after she was born.  I was a crying mess for a while.  I also after 1 year have finally gotten my anemia levels back to a good place.

So many people have asked how I was feeling about  her turning one. Was I emotional, etc…? I was relieved. God is faithful and brought us through such a trying time. I was relieved! 

Give thanks to the Lord for He is good. His love endures forever. I thank God everyday for my 3 beautiful miracles! I am so thankful to be their mom.

Happy Birthday B!

  

Leave a Reply

