Unit Studies with The Story of the World

We love unit studies! My boys gain a lot more out of our lessons when we do them. We are using SOTW Volume 2 for history. This year we are studying Medieval times and the Renaissance. It’s very easy to create unit studies with this curriculum. I look ahead and see what I think the boys will want to pause and learn more about and then I start pulling resources together. This is our latest unit:

England & French at War, Joan of Arc, Henry V by Shakespeare

A few of the books we are using alongside SOTW:




We got The Complete Shakespeare from Usborne Books and More, through wendysbooks.com I am an independent consultant for Usborne and their books are super awesome to use with unit studies. 

Joan of Arc by Diane Stanley is really good. I love her illustrations. My oldest son, 9, reads the book on his own and my younger son, 7, just enjoys the pictures. 

I really love the speech Henry V gives to his soldiers after they feel so sick, tired and broken from war in Shakespeare’s Henry V play. 

We few, we happy few, we band of brothers-

For he today that sheds his blood with me

Shall be my brother; be he ne’er so vile

This day shall gentle his condition-

And gentleman in England, now abed,

Shall think themselves accurs’d they were not here,

And hold their manhoods cheap while any speaks

That fought with us upon Saint Crispin’s Day.

(Henry V, Act IV, scene iii)

This may be my favorite unit study so far because of Shakespeare. Love me some Shakespeare. 

Leave a Reply

